Tom Osborne

Waterford Valley

Minister of Finance and President of Treasury Board
Minister Responsible for the Human Resources Secretariat
Minister Responsible for the Public Service Commission
Minister Responsible for the Office of the Chief Information Officer
Minister Responsible for the Newfoundland and Labrador Liquor Corporation

Born in St. John’ s in 1964, Speaker Tom Osborne graduated from Cabot College in St. John’ s and continued his studies at Memorial University of Newfoundland.

He worked with Statistics Canada from 1986 to 1990, with Small Business Enterprise from 1990 to 1995, and with the Penney Group of Companies from 1990 until the general election in 1996 when he was first elected to the House of Assembly in the district of St. John’ s South. Speaker Osborne was re-elected in the general elections of 1999 and 2003, 2007 and 2011.

On November 6, 2003 Speaker Osborne was sworn into Cabinet and has served as Minister responsible for Environment, Minister of Labour, Minister of Health, Minister of Justice and as Deputy Speaker.

On August 29, 2013, Speaker Osborne announced that he was joining the Liberal Caucus. He served as the Opposition Shadow Cabinet for Transportation and NLHC. In 2015, he was elected to serve the new District of Waterford Valley, and was elected as Speaker of the House of Assembly. In 2017, he was reappointed as the Minister of Finance.

Confederation Building Office

Main Floor, East Block
Confederation Building
P.O. Box 8700
St. John’s, NL
A1B 4J6

Phone: (709) 729-3775
Fax: (709) 729-1746


Constituency Office

Phone: (709) 729-4882
Fax: (709) 729-1746